Home page

Call for papers

Important dates


List of accepted papers



Travel information





DIAL Development Conference 

Shocks in Developing Countries

June 30th and July 1st 2011, Paris


The University of Paris-Dauphine (UPD) and the French Institute of Research for Development (IRD) jointly organize an international conference on development economics in Paris. The conference should provide a forum to discuss innovative theoretical and empirical research on micro and macro shocks and their impact on developing countries.

Keynote speakers

 Ann Harrison (University of California, Berkeley and National Bureau of Economic Research)

Ann Harrison is a Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics at the University of California, Berkeley and a Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research. Her research is in the area of international trade, foreign investment, and economic development. She has analyzed the impact of globalization on domestic labor markets, the linkages between productivity and trade reform, and the impact of foreign investment on host countries.

Stefan Dercon (Oxford University)

Stefan Dercon is a Professor of Economics at Oxford University. He is also a development economist applying microeconomics and statistics to problems of development. His research is in the area of risk and poverty, agriculture and rural institutions, political economy, childhood poverty, social and geographic mobility, micro-insurance, and measurement issues related to poverty and vulnerability. Much of his work also involves the analysis of longitudinal data-sets.

Scientific committee

Touhami Abdelkhalek (INSEA Rabat)
Marta Castilho (
Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro)
Denis Cogneau (IRD and PSE)

Philippe De Vreyer (UPD)
Michael Grimm (ISS)
Flore Gubert (IRD and PSE)
Marc Gurgand (CNRS-PSE)
Hanan Jacoby (World Bank)
Sylvie Lambert (INRA-PSE)
Aly Mbaye (Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar)
Sandrine Mesplé-Somps (IRD)
El Mouhoub Mouhoud (UPD)
Christophe Jalil Nordman (IRD)
Marc Raffinot (UPD)
Jean-Marc Siroën (UPD)
James Tybout (Pennsylvania State University)

Organizing committee

Philippe De Vreyer (UPD)
Ivan Ledezma (UPD)
Sabine Mage (UPD)
Christophe Jalil Nordman (IRD)
Xavier Oudin (IRD)
Nelly Rakoto-Tiana (IRD)
Julia Vaillant (IRD)



4  rue  d'Enghien  -  Paris 10 (France) Tél. 33 (0)1 53 24 14 50 / Fax 33 (0)1 53 24 14 51

Accueil  |  Plan du site  |  Abonnement  |  Contact  |

Dernière mise à jour :

le  25 mai 2011